The last few days have been spent trying to compile and gather my thoughts about what I have so far. Bullfighting is certainly interesting, and it’s interesting to many people. It’s just that the way it’s viewed as interesting tends to differ among said people.

One interview has been completed since my last post, with Mapi Jimenez. She organised a protest against bullfighting here in Tudela. It’s good to get all these perspectives. It’s informing my conclusion (I think?). And the two interviews that I have confirmed will certainly top this off. Keeping shtum about what those are. They are going to be incredibly useful.

The sad reality is I don’t know if I’ll have time to do all that I intended to. I know this is a uni project, and I haven’t got the clout that a professional operation has. That hasn’t stopped me trying to push my own boundaries. However, if I’m lucky enough to get into this as a career, this is a topic I will definitely come back to at least once. There’s such a world of information about bullfighting that a 28 minute documentary is certainly going to prove challenging (I’ll come back to this) but what I’m trying to do is set up what the arguments are.

What struck me just before I started recording my latest interview was the bullfighting paraphernalia on show in local shops. As a sneak peak for you, on tape I asked Mapi about the banderillas (skewers used to weaken bull during the fight) being on display in public, essentially. She told me that this is part of the debate on the streets; shops will either advertise themselves as pro-bulls by displaying matador caps, the banderillas, or paintings of bulls, or anti-bulls by not displaying anything. Although, I imagine that by not displaying anything you might also not have any opinion on the matter. Perhaps a case of muddied waters, but it further underlines how public this debate is.

Going back to the issue of it being challenging; it’s quite challenging. I understand this is a topic where people might fall on one side or the other. What’s important for me is providing as much of the picture as possible. What I’m trying to do is come at this debate from as many angles as possible to give as rounded and complete an argument as possible. I’m already starting to draw conclusions, but I’ll keep those as a surprise for the end of the documentary itself. Spoilers. What I’m also aiming to do is ensure this isn’t such a dense piece. I feel that, given the subject matter, it could easily go on for hours before you get a grasp on the situation. That’s why I’m trying to take in as much as possible in 28 minutes. The finished piece (if I’m smart about it) will be as dense as it needs to be. I’m not promising a laugh a minute; it’s a tough topic. But what I am promising is an informed and rational piece that’s as dense as it needs to be in some places. In others, I’ve tried giving it some room to breathe.

In relation to editing, I have the prototype of the first 11 minutes. I reckon I can get that to slightly under 10 in a final cut, but it’s useful going into interviews to know where I’m at in this stage of the game.

Inside 11 minutes I take you on a magical mystery tour of:

  • numerous locations
  • me, breathless, trying to walk uphill and
  • lots of great editing trying to nullify the noise of Spanish people partying

It’s getting there. I’ll make a documentary yet.

Un saludo cordial!

20226485_1859244160769406_284707714_o

Leave a Reply

